Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Subaru forester 2011 2.0 fb20
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, we have a subaru forester 2011 2.0 and when I was checking the levels, open the radiator cap and was full with the milk/chocolate mix of water and oil, the engine is working ok, no heat problems, the dipstick for the engine and A/T are clean of water, I'm worried because this car does not have engine oil cooler or I have not found it yet but does have A/T oil cooler, so I want to remove the radiator and Send it to check, can you help me with this problem?

·
Registered
1999 A/T - 235,000 mi. WA state
890 Posts
Hello, ... so I want to remove the radiator and Send it to check, can you help me with this problem?
Well, wait for other replies and consensus, but I'd save money and labor for what sounds like replacing head gaskets, which is expensive. I believe the 2.0 liter Forester isn't sold in the USA (I've no knowledge of engine), so my perception is based on my old 2.5 liter - and my headgasket failed at 90,000 km. Luck

·
Super Moderator
2001 Forester S, 4EAT
2,922 Posts
IMHO I think it's the Head Gaskets. The AT Cooler inside the radiator rarely ever fails, if anything the radiator usually fails at the seam between the tank and the fins. And also if coolant is indeed mixing with the AT Fluid you would know it. Can you take a sample of oil and send it off to have it checked for coolant?

But then 2.0L engine head gasket? That's very very rare as well....

·
Registered
Subaru forester 2011 2.0 fb20
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, wait for other replies and consensus, but I'd save money and labor for what sounds like replacing head gaskets, which is expensive. I believe the 2.0 liter Forester isn't sold in the USA (I've no knowledge of engine), so my perception is based on my old 2.5 liter - and my headgasket failed at 90,000 km. Luck
Thank you for taking the time to reply.