Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Notice: Please accept my apology for not using the right jargon below. I'm a newbie in whole car maintenance world, thus would not know "right" words to use. I'll appreciate if you teach me :)

I've just returned from a ~600 miles trip (1200 two ways). Everything was smooth throughout the trip (at least I have not realized much). After a day or two, I tried to start the car and it would not start immediately. I need to keep cranking for 3-4 seconds (keep the key pressed and rotated), it hesitates, as if not enough "power" to start, but then it starts. This happens every time when starting the car, for last 3-4 days. Once it starts, it drives normally. Nothing wrong with electrical components.

I used my BlueDriver OBD2 Scan Tool, and there is one confirmed code "P0345 Camshaft position sensor A circuit bank 2" and one 1 pending code "P0336 crankshaft position sensor A circuit range/performance". For the confirmed code (camshaft), there are three suggested fixes
1. Programming powertrain control module
2. Replacing spark plugs
3. Replacing camshaft position sensor

I tried #2 and replaced all spark plugs, as it seemed the cheapest and easiest option. No luck; still has the same issue. I'm planning to try #3, but could not sure how to. Is there any guide to replace camshaft position sensor(s) for 2011 Forester? I assume there are multiple sensors (4 of them?), and I need to replace a specific one (sensor A, bank 2). Is that right? Where is it located exactly?