Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Forester X Limited, 2007 Impreza Outback Sport SE 5MT
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this is my first time trying to build up a car audio system, and I have a few questions that I am not super clear on after research.

First of all:
Goal-more clear, slightly louder sound, not a whole lot of money
Current Equipment: Started with "premium" system in my 2007 Impreza, and now have a Sony XA-VAX1000 HU (22 RMS x 4), stock under seat sub, stock rear 4" speakers, and I just installed Polk DB 5251's (5.25 component system for front door).

I have replaced the stock tweeter with the component tweeter in the same location, installed crossovers, and wired everything up. I cut the stock speakers apart to use the mounting/spacer to mount to my new speakers. Stock size was 5.25" with premium allegedly being 6.5 (but looks closer to 6" after cutting it out). The mounting ears of the Polks touch the plastic I am mounting them too, but there is a gap all around the body of the speaker and the spacer, though the mount is very solid.

Like many, I have "lost" a lot of mid bass and lower mid bass, where I can hear bass (the instrument) but it is quiet and not prominent, even after messing with EQ and all of that. I know that I need to let the speakers break in, and I love the volume and clarity besides from the lack of bass (close to the 120hz area, not anything lower than 80 or 80hz, as I have the stock sub crossed over to take care of that, even though I think the stock sub might be a little blown). I have checked Polarity and wiring and all of that as well. I can "feel" significant air/vibration in front of the woofers, I just don't hear much in the mid bass range.