Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Forester Automatic
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. It's my first time posting in the forum, but I have used it many times before to learn more about my Forester.

I own a 2011 Subaru Forester 2.5X Premium with 52,000 miles. No problems thus far aside from a valve (cover?) gasket covered under warranty... quick fix around 42,000 miles.

This past Saturday after driving back from skiing, the check engine light came on while in park and the hazards on. Check engine light, blinking cruise light, and steady traction light. From what I understand, those features are disabled when the check engine light is on. For some background, about 2-3 weeks prior, I had noticed a decrease of about 10-15% in average fuel economy. Also, I'm at about 5K between oil changes so it's time for another one. Finally, I haven't changed the spark plugs yet.

I took the Forester over to AutoZone to check the codes. It came back P0171 (three different P0171 codes). Here are the details:

Troubleshooting P0171
System too lean - bank 1 (cylinder number 1 denotes bank 1)
Probable Cause
1) Faulty MAF Sensor
2) Large vacuum leak
3) Low fuel pressure
4) Plugged injector or cylinder misfire

Any ideas as to what the problem might be? I have an appointment at the dealership for an oil change and engine check tomorrow (Tuesday) so I'm interested in getting some ideas beforehand. The autozone rep said it could be the oxygen sensor, but discarded that idea after getting the printout. Said it could just be a dirty injector. He also tested the battery - gave back a "100% charge" but a "bad battery reading".

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2011 Forester Automatic
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·