Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’ve had my 2010 Forester in for all maintenance with the dealership. Shortly after the timing belt was changed, the head gasket blew at 170,000 km. Replaced that. Now the engine constantly makes a loud ticking sound and it’s down 1 L oil every 1,000 km. I took it in to the dealership for a diagnostic. Charged me $250 to tell me the engine looks average, plus another $200 (without asking) to fix an open pcv valve. It still ticks loudly and burns oil. Seems like the engine is done. Is it time to sell if I’m not a mechanic? This car has cost me a fortune this year ($8,000)!!!! And I feel like the dealership is just trying to wring every last cent out of me before this engine gives out.

·
Premium Member
2019 Crosstrek 2018 Forester XT
14,803 Posts
If they did the head gasket and into burns oil they screwed you. Contact subaru corporate

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT Auto
1,069 Posts
The loud ticking sound is concerning, but on my 03 I've also had head gasket and all seals replaced, valves and seals done with HG, and it still consumes oil at a similar rate. It is definitely not leaking anywhere, no oil/coolant mixing or anything. We just keep it topped off and its been good to our family, currently my daughter's car.

·
Registered
2012 Forester X Auto
2,512 Posts
@Christa123 -
First of all, use a dealer as a last resort.
They tend to be the most expensive for repairs and have a proclivity to "repair" by replacing parts at full price regardless of whether or not that part has anything to do with the problem.
No idea where you live, but with your kilometer reference, you aren't in the US.
Update your profile and perhaps someone can provide you with a referral to help you find a decent mechanic in your area.

There is more to an engine than gaskets... just replacing them doesn't mean every problem is resolved.