Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, this is my first post here as I am new to owning a Forester. I’ve owned my XT for about three weeks now, and the engine was completely stock when I bought it. It ran perfectly, had no issues either in regular or sport mode. As I’m sure most of us do, I wanted to make a little more power so I did the following mods all at the same time:

Moshimoto CAI
Aftermarket downpipe
Invidia Q300 cat back exhaust
Cobb Accessport (stage 2 + SF)

Once I got it all installed I took it for a drive, and within a few minutes I got a CEL, traction control light came on, and the flashing cruise control light. I also noticed around the same time that the car felt much stronger under WOT up until around 4K RPM’s, then it would lose a ton of power. As the RPM’s would slowly increase, there would be a faint lugging feeling, and the transmission would not shift out of gear unless I let off of the pedal. It did this in regular and sport mode, and in any gear.

When I got home I read the codes, and it was a p1718 and a P600. I looked all over for answers on how to fix them, and there didn’t seem to be any one specific thing that would cause them but a number of things that could be the reason. I tried unplugging the negative battery terminal overnight but it didn’t do anything, and I uninstalled and reinstalled my map with no luck either. So I took the car in to a local shop, and $300 later they told me they had it fixed, that all that happened when installing the stage 2 map the TCU somehow lost connection to the ECU, and it couldn’t regain the connection. So they were able to clear it and get everything back to normal. I asked if it was driving fine and the guy said that he didn’t get a chance to drive it far, but what driving he did it felt fine.