Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've recently purchased a 2008 MY09 XS Premium, with 95,000km (59,000 miles), and it all seemed pretty good when i purchased it (from a private seller, not dealer), but while i'm handy with tools, i'm not a mechanic by any means. I took it in to my local dealer a few days after i got it, and they changed out all the fluids/etc as part of a 112k service. Nothing to report except brake pad wear and needing new tyres...

Anyway, so it needed a new set of boots, and i've thrown on some G015's (215/65/r16), and got a wheel alignment while i was at it. The alignment report confirmed what i'd suspected after spending a bit more time under the bonnet/hood, in that the car has had a hit on the front left at some stage and been repaired, which i'd not noticed when i checked and test drove the car originally.

Caster angles for the front left are 4.5 degrees, and 6.0 for the front right. The tyre fitters reported this, along with a few other minor issues i knew about (brake pads needed replacing/etc), and that they found the car to be pulling to the left. Now i didn't notice this before i bought the car, so suspect the seller may have adjusted tyre pressures when i tested it to 'correct' pull, but anyway, regardless... Caster angle reported as off. It seems to be fairly widely reported on here that caster angles don't make much (if any) difference to 'pulling' to one side, however...

Camber/toe/etc all looked to be within spec, no real differences left to right.

So anyway, questions are:
1) Could it be the caster angle difference of 1.5 degrees is causing the pull to the left
2) What corrective action can i take, assume it's a structural issue as a result of a crash
3) Any other suggestions?