Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Forester Manual
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am new to Subaru and need some help. The girlfriend recently picked up a 2009 forester base model. It has a significant water leak soaking the passenger floor. I am familiar with the A/C drain problem and immediately checked this out, it was free and clear. I removed the plastic tray under the blower and saw some remnants of water right under the blower. Also the blower looked to have rust on the shaft as did the blower regulator which coincidentally also failed with a broken solder joint. Today it rained pretty hard and I took everything apart again. When I removed the cabin air filter I found it to be soaked with water and water pooling around the top of the blower. My research into this issue has pretty much exclusively blamed the AC drain which I know to be free. Because my cabin filter is soaking I suspect the water to be coming from above the filter. Any ideas about how to approach this?

·
Registered
323 Posts
Ice build up on the cowl can lead to water entering the HVAC system and collects on the cabin filter.

Usually I see this after a really sever wind snow storm. I'd start by inspecting the cowl on the passenger side to see if there's any damage.

·
Registered
2009 Forester Manual
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·