Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Forester
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone ever heard of Rislone oil treatment? I've been using it since 1971 and have seen some unbelievable results (even though I have no idea what is really in it). I hear it's been around since 1939; but no mechanic I've ever talked to has admitted hearing of it or using it............ TKS, J

·
Registered
2015 Forester Touring 2.5 CVT
1,317 Posts
Has anyone ever heard of Rislone oil treatment? I've been using it since 1971 and have seen some unbelievable results (even though I have no idea what is really in it). I hear it's been around since 1939; but no mechanic I've ever talked to has admitted hearing of it or using it............ TKS, J
The name sounds vaguely familiar but I've never used it.

What sort of unbelievable results have you seen?

·
Registered
2009 Forester
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Rislone

Well, it was a long time ago, but I had been using it in a 1970 chevy 6 cyl since the car was new. After about 165,000 miles I had to replace the valve cover gasket. When I pulled the cover I expected to see a lot of muck and sludge (even though I change my oil and filter religiously every 3K miles). What I found was an immaculately clean valve cover and the rocker arms etc were all completely free of any kind of dirt or sticky stuff. I still use it but do worry about whether I should or not what with the 4 qt capacity of the Subies....and perhaps a too high a ratio of additive to regular oil; but so far, no probs (hope I didn't jinx myself). J

·
Registered
1,317 Posts