Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2009 forester. I swapped out the engine which had failed on this car for a jdm engine.
following the instructions from the dealership service dept., I used wiring harness and intake manifold from the old engine. when I attempt to start the new engine, dash lights up as it should, but all I get is a series of electrical clicking sounds on the right side of the engine front. no starter sounds.

Hym

·
Registered
2009 Forester 2.0 XS
403 Posts
Is it 2.0 XS? 2.0 XT turbo? which version? AFAIK it is not trivial to connect all plugs to the ECM. BTW, are you using the old ECM or the new one? I think everything should be swapped. But I am no expert in no way. Some others hopefull will chime in.

·
Registered
2003 EJ20K Forester
365 Posts
Starter systems are really unintelligent and should work with what you've done. This makes me think its a battery or battery connection problem. A loose connection will draw the few dozen amps it takes to run the lights, fans, etc, but the 600A peak starter draw browns the system out. Tighten the battery terminals and check the battery voltage (on the clamps, not the posts) while trying to crank

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Starter systems are really unintelligent and should work with what you've done. This makes me think its a battery or battery connection problem. A loose connection will draw the few dozen amps it takes to run the lights, fans, etc, but the 600A peak starter draw browns the system out. Tighten the battery terminals and check the battery voltage (on the clamps, not the posts) while trying to crank
On both the old engine and the one I installed, ground straps from body to engine were shot. I also located the starter ground cable on the top bolt for the engine/bellhousing, would any of that make a difference? I now have the battery charging.

·
Premium Member
2004 forester sti
2,553 Posts