Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I’m a new owner and so far love my new/used forester. It’s in great condition with 102210 miles. I know I need to replace the main gasket if it leaks. So far no leaks though. Also I’m past the timing belt replace. A mechanic said to wait until 130,000 miles as it does not look worn and the printing on the belt looks great. Another mechanic told me I bought a crummy car as it know for gasket problems. The local dealer said he’d do the work for $2457.00. Please could you give me advice. Thanks. Carolyn

·
Registered
2004 FXT 4EAT
558 Posts
$2457 for a timing belt replacement? That seems like quite the rip-off.

Even doing both head-gaskets and the timing belt for that amount seems like a rip-off.

I did both head-gaskets + timing belt in my garage on our 2009 X. By myself without help. It took me 9 hours from start to finish. And I'm NOT a pro! (that was 15K ago. No issues. No more oil-leaks)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Gus. Are you close and want to earn $?
it might have been the main seal. Guess they changed that the next year. No garage here and gravel driveway. I’ll look around for better prices. Take care.:cool:

·
Registered
2011 Subaru Forester
378 Posts
Stick with the first mechanic. If its only seeping a bit try high mileage synthetic oil. As for parts and pricing, you can look online for genuine Subaru or quality aftermarket at a place like RockAuto.

·
Administrator
2018 2.5i Premium CVT
18,227 Posts
Timing belt can also fail as a consequence of failure of any rotating device that touches it — water pump, idlers, tensioner. You're a bit short of the factory recommendation of 105k miles, but already well beyond the recommended 105 month point. Failure can be fatal to the engine. The job should involve replacement of all those components.