Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2006 FXT 5mt
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to EJ255, but not EJ253. I came from an 06 X 4eat.

I love the car, but my friends and I got it on a lift and it leaks a lot of oil/coolant.
  • I check and refill my oil every time I get gas
  • In 300 miles, it has went from halfway between low and full on the dipstick to slightly below the low mark
  • Oil comes out dark, but clean. Oil does not have any coolant in it. (At least not noticeable on the dipstick. I will change oil soon even though the dealer I bought it from claims they just did it, I don't know about that because the oil is very dark, could just be crappy oil)

I can't tell where it is leaking from because there is fluid literally everywhere on the bottom of the engine. My friend thought potentially the upper banjo bolt on the turbo.

One idea I had was getting an underbody carwash to clean most of the heavy gunk off then seeing where it starts leaking again. I didn't realize until time of writing this post that I am also leaking coolant. I am definitely not leaking power steering, despite the awful condition hoses. I've been watching the power steering fluid levels and it stays the same, there is an air leak somewhere, because it whines, but I am nearly positive that's the hose right up top.

If there are any pictures I can take that might help better identify it, let me know, any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
2001 Forester
1,892 Posts
I think given you have coolant and oil leaking under there. You have leaking head gasket. The only way you know 100% if coolant is mixing in with oil is to send oil sample off for testing. I had oil and coolant loss. I saw signs of oil leaking and coolant leaking under neath the vehicle. There were no visible signs oil showing up in the coolant, however it was showing up in the oil samples I sent of twice for testing, 2nd sample had higher coolant levels than the 1st sample.

·