Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sparing you the backstory for a bit, I need to replace the engine in my 05 Forester XT. One of the cylinders is shot, as confirmed by a trusted mechanic. I'm trying to figure out my options for replacement, balancing the cost with quality/risk.

I'm new to subaru and its forums, but not to the internet... so sorry in advance if there's like a bunch of threads like this. I've tried to look, but there's too much I'm unfamiliar with so even related ones don't translate to my exact situation well enough with my current understanding. Basically, my mechanic quoted the job at $3300. I'm considering it, but wanted to see if there were less expensive avenues, if I'm willing to put in some more work on my end.

My current engine is the 2.5L DOHC turbo -- pretty sure it's original to the vehicle. After some browsing, I've discovered some listings on eBay for compatible engines. It seems a little too good to be true, so I'm waiting for one of you more knowledgeable folks to rain on my parade. These engines are ~$900, all say "JDM" or "imported from Japan," have relatively low miles (30-60k) and reasonable shipping costs. I have noticed they're all 2.0L instead of 2.5, but everything I've seen so far suggests it compatible. They also come with some semblance of 30-90 day warranties.

My idea is I could buy one of these, then either get it installed by a shop that agrees to use an engine I provide, or install it myself. How realistic are these options? Is there something really foolish about all this?

If I tried myself: I don't have a ton of car experience, but I am mechanically savvy. Between YouTube and forums like this, I feel I can get prepared for the job. As for equipment, I happen to live near this cool place that lets you rent shop space/equipment to work on your own car. So in theory I'd have all the tools I need.