Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am new to tuning/modding cars and was just wondering if i need a protune/cobb accessport to run a catback exhaust efficiently

·
Registered
MY05 Forester 2.5 XT 5MT
3,153 Posts
Changing a CatBack ? No you don't need a remap (Tune)

Changing a Cat from factory to Sports cat or De-Cat ? Yes you need a remap (Tune) or your pistons will tell you they feel about running lean.

The only exception is the Up-Pipe from the exhaust manifolt-Turbo pipe. That has a cat in the MY05 (Pre-Facelift) 2.5XT but you can remove this with a De-Cat pipe without any problems - I know because I've done this and had my fuelling checked since.

Edit: I have zero experience with generic off the shelf tuning boxes. Personally I would be very wary and prefer to get a map for my specific car and fuel....But each to their own.

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT
15 Posts
I apologize for the vagueness in my post. And I was referring to changing factory exhaust to sports catback. Thank you for the detailed explanation. I was told by the local tune shop that i need to have the tuning box (cobb accessport) in order to have a custom tune done on my car. Are they trying to rip me off of $650?

·
Registered
2007 Forester XT
49 Posts
Your motor will be running lean if you replace your exhaust. I experienced a loss in gas mileage when I tampered with mine without a tune. In the end I put my exhaust back to stock. I am going to wait until I get all the parts I want to put on my car then get a tune to accommodate them. You do not want your motor running lean for an extended period of time as it can cause all sorts of problems.

·
Premium Member
2017 VW Golf SportWagen 5MT
10,784 Posts
Replacing a catback (resonator pipe + axleback) will not make enough difference -- no need to retune for that.

Replacing a downpipe will make a difference -- need to tune for it, AP will work.