Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so first off, I am very new to the mod game but have been doing a LOT of reading about suspension, which I am looking to do very soon for my 04 FXT. Basically, I know there are loads of options and it seems like no two people run the same set-up, which makes things a bit confusing to someone so new to the game. So, I will take you through some of my needs/wants out of a suspension and talk a little about what I am leaning towards based on research. All of you suspension wizards please feel free to chime in and make your recommendations or if necessary make me an example of a newb who knows nothing...i think they call that pity?

Needs/Wants:
  • DD suspension set-up. This car will not be doing any tracking at all.
  • I definitely want a pretty significant drop without sacrificing comfort. STi suspension is too low for me and from the looks of it, I feel that Forester Swifts just don't give the drop I am looking for. That said, looking for something basically lower than Swifts/JDM Forester Springs.
  • Needs to be cost effective. Unfortunately I don't have the budget for D-Specs or even close because I am also getting wheels and tires too <gulp> (pretty sure those will be Rota SVN's). So I think it needs to be OEM takeoff or something close to it.
  • Heres where I am basically confused: spring rate and stiffness. For a DD and for someone who will not be doing off-roading or even aggressive turning, I am not looking for stiff stiff. I want to be able to handle turns at a nice clip without getting body roll while not feeling every road bump that I cruise over.
Through research: