Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Forester 2.5X
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My mechanic just looked at my car, because there is an apparent a grinding noise coming from the engine. He believes a bearing on the water pump is going bad. He recommends doing a full replacement of timing belt/water pump kit.

I'm a beginner at this, so I'm looking for opinions... is this a serious issue? And could it cause major failure if not taken care of right away? (he said it could affect the timing belt which then could cause some major stuff)

I have a 2004 Forester with 220K. Cost of repair is $1150, which is 1/3 the cost of the car purchased 3 years ago. I'm quite mechanically inclined, but haven't done so much on cars.

Any input would be helpful.

·
Registered
non-subaru
911 Posts
At 220K it is due for the second belt replacement so it makes sense. It isn't an inexpensive thing to do but 1150 seems a bit spendy.
As far as it being absolutely necessary today, that's hard to say. It should be done because timing belts can break and of course the chance that it breaks gets higher as it ages. So it is preventative maintenance.
When it breaks, your engine is most likely done for.

·
Registered
2004 Forester 2.5X
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, I agree. I just called a shop that only works on Subaru, they gave me a quote of $650. Quite a drop in price. I asked if they were OEM parts... he said not all of them, but they're made in the same factory as the OEM parts. The shop has been around for a few years, nearly all 5-star reviews.

Although my timing belt was recently replaced at 170,000 in March 2016, so we'll see if that's ok or not...

Thanks Remco.

·
Registered
2004 Forester 2.5X
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·