1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I am new to the Forester community,
I just bought my 2004 FXT about a week ago.

Here are the current mods my engine has:

Catless up pipe (invidia)
Catback exhaust (hks)
AOS (grimmspeed)

The big caveat to my question here is that to my knowledge the engine has 250,000mi on it, I don't know if it has ever been rebuilt.

So my question for the community is what precautions should I take before doing any engine tuning? Should I go for an off the shelf tune or pay for a custom tune?

I don't really want to compromise the reliability of the engine, but I bought it to mod it so just want to be smart about how I do it.

Would it be smart to upgrade the stock intercooler or radiator?

Thanks in advance for any help

·
Registered
2009 Forester XT
636 Posts
Get a compression test, leak down test, and send an oil sample to a lab such as Blackstone. These will give you the best snap shot of the health of your motor.
If all is good, ensure all maintenance is up to date, specifically timing belt components, including water pump and idler pulleys. If you are unsure, assume it is not.
Pro tune is always better than off the shelf, and I'd seek the advice of a tuner concerning the mileage and things to be concerned about.

Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2001 Forester STi 6spd with MapDCCD
4,642 Posts
X2 with what SkirbyKat said.