·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Gents
Newbie here
So the above is my wifes car. 130 K
Recent dealer work: New timing belt Radiator, Turbo and gaskets.
Last weekend she got the oil changed at the local Valvoline quick change.
While driving home 60 miles later the engine quits and all the lights come on.
I get my truck and tow her home with a strap.
The next morning I start it and its making very expensive from what I think is coming from the front of the engine in the timing belt area.
I only run it for about 20 secs.
Tow it to the dealer and they say they think " It threw a rod" or something major came apart in the engine.
This is Flower Motors Montrose Colorado, which I think is a stand up OK shop.
The car was running great before this oil change, do you guys think this very recent oil change had anything to do with it?
The car is in excellent shape.
Do these engines fail like this at this fairly low mileage?
What do you think?
Thanks in advance!
Nick
Telluride Co

·
Premium Member
2019 Crosstrek 2018 Forester XT
14,926 Posts
It happens more with XT's

·
Registered
2017 Forester Premium 2.5i, 6-speed manual, moon-roof, fog lights, skid-plates, winch, 2nd bedroom
164 Posts
How was the oil level when you towed it home?
Sixty miles after a quick change sounds like they sucked most of the oil out; and forgot to refill it.

·
Registered
2004 FXT 4EAT
1,013 Posts
I'm sorry to hear that!

You could remove the timing belt inspection cover (driver's side, by the battery) and see if there's anything in there that seems "wrong".

And like @CO17Forester said: what was the oil-level afterwards?

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Gents
Oil level was Full after the castrorific failure
Thanks for the responses
Nick

·
Registered
2010 X Limited, 2.5L NA, 4AT. Purchased as the second owner in 2020 with ~126K miles.
363 Posts
Maybe the oil pump got eaten.

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·