Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am excited to say that I am on the final stretch to having an 04 to 07 sport front end conversion completed:biggrin: There are a few small issues I need to work out and then it will be complete. Once it is complete I will create a thread and explain exactly how I did it and include pics for the steps along the way. In the mean time I want to get my car fully operational.

Okay so I am by no means an electrical expert but I do have a basic knowledge of wiring, so I am hoping others on this forums will be able to help me.

Basically I am having an issue getting the headlights to work exactly right. I am trying to get all the lights on my 06-08 light working using modified 04 wiring. The turn signal and reflector light are the exact same connection and they are long enough to be used in the two different headlights without any modification to the wiring. The parking light is at the oppposite side of the light but I converted to an LED strip and extended the wire so that works fine as well.

Basically what I am left with is converting from the:

9003 (LO/HI)

to

H1 (LO) and 9005 (HI)

I thought I understood the pinout of the 9003 and wired it how I believed it would work, but I was wrong. Currently my low beams work but when I turn on my High beams it actually dims the lights and doesn't turn on the High beams. Also the high beam indicator light is always on in the dash, regardless of if the high beam is in the on position or not. I don't remember exactly how I wired it without going to take a look at it, so I don't mind if someone just tells me how it should be wired and I will just rewire it.

Please help me fix this wiring issue so I don't have to worry about my lighting being messed up and I can focus on better things like creating a thread about how to do the 04-07 swap.

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·