Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this specific forum but I have been using NASIOC and RS25 for a few years now. In all honesty I have not joined this site because thus-far my mom's Forester has not be any troubles.

2 days ago her driveshaft broke at the U-joint closest to the transmission. With that said I am looking for a used drive shaft. I have searched google, nasioc, and this site looking for a solid answer to my question but have not found it....

The car is a 2002 Forester 5spd

Will a drive shaft from another model work on her Forester?

I at first was thinking an Impreza driveshaft might work but then I was worried about the difference in ground clearance might mean the Forester driveshaft is longer?

I am running short on time since I need to get her car up/running this weekend so I decided to post in hopes everyone here could answer my question.

Also, does anyone near DE, PA, MD, NJ have a used driveshaft they could sell?

Thanks,
Ian Cooper

·
Registered
2010 Forester
173 Posts
Have you checked around at the local junk yards? You might be able to find one on a wrecked Forester.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are a few junk yards and/or 'you-pull-it' yards around. I have thought about calling around to see if they have the parts and/or Foresters. BUT this perticular week has proven to be VERY crazy and I have not had the time to do this.

Also, if I can learn that the driveshaft from another model will work with the Forester that will perhaps increase my chances of finding it if I do end up at a junkyard.

Keep the ideas/information coming please!

Thanks,
Ian

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)