Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Forester CVT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I just registered for the forum so I apologize if I am not posting this question in the right area.

I just bought my 2014 Forester 2.5i Touring w/CVT. I've got about 650km on it and I've been noticing that the when the CVT "upshifts/downshifts" or changes ratios it starts to tug a bit and is not always the smoothest when "changing" gears. Sometimes the problem is more noticeable than other times and I wondering if anyone else has experienced this. I have yet to contact Subaru because I figured I would let the car "break in" a bit. However, I want to determine if this is normal behaviour before alerting Subaru.

It's my first time owning a CVT and a Subaru.

Thanks!!

·
Premium Member
2014 Forester XT Touring CVT
12,780 Posts
The only time you should feel "tugging" or a "not smooth" feeling should be when the engine is cold and the torque converter has not kicked in yet.

When the torque converter does kick in, you can feel a little bit of a tug, as the RPMs drop down.

Plenty of reading, discussion, and debate on this topic already.. here are some links to provide you with several days of reading.

http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f89/cvt-learn-love-242474/
http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f88/2-5i-prem-cvt-gentle-bucking-light-acceleration-212890/
http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f89/cvt-pulleys-chain-233586/
http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f88/2014-xt-cvt-hesitation-230466/
http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f88/cvt-issue-2014-forester-174041/
http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f81/forester-2014-2-5-i-cvt-driving-instability-165793/

There are some others out there too... use the search bar at the top of the screen and search for CVT (especially useful to do a title only search in the advanced search tab).

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
2014 Forester CVT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·