Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I apologize ahead of time if this is in the wrong place, and also I am not very good with mechanical details. But here is my problem. My Subaru Forester has 160k miles, and today when I went to start it, it make a horrible knocking/tapping noise coming from the engine, and this is just sitting idle. I had someone look at it and they think it might be the rocker arm?, or a problem with the intake or exhaust valve. Im curious if this sounds right, or if anyone has had a problem like this. My father in law is a mechanic and said I could use his tools etc but Im curious how big of a job Im looking at and would I run in to any other problems tearing the engine apart. Thanks ahead of time. I hope I explained everything ok.

·
Registered
2001 Forester S
106 Posts
Does the sound go away as the engine warms up? Has the engine lost power? Is the engine out of oil?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wormguy thanks for the response. The sound does not go away as the engine warms up, and when I drove it home from across town where I live when I first heard the noise the engine was real sluggish and felt like it was losing power. I checked the oil and there is oil on the dip stick and it all looks normal. Im just hoping my engine isnt toast.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
As far as I know it has not. I bought the car used when it had 130k miles on it. I have looked through all the service records I have and I don't see anything for a timing belt.

·
Registered
2001 Forester S
106 Posts
Okay. Probably not piston slap or lack of oil.