Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
97 Subaru Forester GX 5speed Manual.
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here. Could really use some guidance.

About 6 months or so ago I came across a lady on Facebook giving away what has become my car. It had not been started in four years before I picked it up. To my surprise the car still turned over first turn of the key after a new battery was in it. I took it home and 3 grand later got it into roadworthy condition and now registered.

What I plan to do with this bad boy is swap the motor out. It's got an EJ20J motor in it currently that's done 309k so I doubt it'll last much longer. I wasn't kidding about the noob part. Is it a simple task swapping the motor for the turbo EJ20 or could I even put a EJ25 turbo motor in it? Any suggestions of what you would do are welcome. I wanna make a sleeper out of this car. I kinda like the idea of keeping it looking like a poop box but having a better engine and gearbox
IMG20210423144018.jpg .

·
Registered
MY05 Forester 2.5 XT 5MT
3,000 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Unfortunately your Forester looks like it is a non turbo.
To swap to a turbo engine would mean:
Engine swap
Turbo
Intercooler
Exhaust manifold
Exhaust
ECU
Wiring harness for under the bonnet and probably cabin too, for the ECU connections

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the heads up. Do the non turbo models still have the mounts for the turbo gear? I was always going to replace the exhaust anyway.

·
Registered
MY05 Forester 2.5 XT 5MT
3,000 Posts
I'm not sure how the mounting works in regards to what the non turbo has. I would expect brackets etc would all be neded too.

If you were to go turbo, I would highly recommend going EJ205 or EJ207 instead of an EJ2555 or EJ257 as the EJ25 series blows headgaskets - Some like to argue and say only the non turbos do lol