Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Forester
621 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a fair DIY mechanic, but when I tried to carefully remove the 4 plastic fasteners that hold down my XT's engine cover (and other things under the hood) I broke 2 of them and then found that even with the center "plunger" removed, they will not fit back into the hole from which they came.

Called the dealer who says these are $2.75 apiece (worth $.25) and they they don't stock any and he has not heard of any ever breaking. Is this guy full of it or what????

I want a better method of fastening the cover....these things are absurd.

Any better ideas out there?????

Thanks....... Bob

·
Super Moderator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
35,712 Posts
Yes, replacement parts can be very spendy! I replaced the two on my '07 FSXT & so far, they've worked perfectly. Mine are removed by turning counterclockwise slightly with a philips screw driver, which causes them to popup. They can then be pulled off. The reinstallation is just a matter of pushing them back into the holes until they seat. Perhaps the ones on the '09 are different? :confused:

Bobby...

·
Registered
2009 Forester XT Limited
1,545 Posts
Yes, replacement parts can be very spendy! I replaced the two on my '07 FSXT & so far, they've worked perfectly. Mine are removed by turning counterclockwise slightly with a philips screw driver, which causes them to popup. They can then be pulled off. The reinstallation is just a matter of pushing them back into the holes until they seat. Perhaps the ones on the '09 are different? :confused:

Bobby...
Nope...........the same or really similar. Nice ride Bob! Looks good from what I can see. If you get the clips you may want to get several so that you have some xtra, just in-case! I was thinking of getting some myself.

·
Registered
2010 Forester
621 Posts
Discussion Starter #5