Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I also posted this on NASIOC, but since I expected their answers to be much less mature, and extremely biased, I wanted to post it here as well... This seems like an amazing group of people here on SF.org! If I end up going with the Forester, I'll look forward to spending lots of time here! :)

I'm new to the whole Scoob scene. Sometime within the next year, I hope to purchase my next new vehicle. So, I'm doing as much research as I can now. My two main criteria are (1) FUN TO DRIVE (manual tranny) and (2) Practical. I'm about to turn 23, and will hopefully be getting married and starting a family in the next few years, so I want something practical enough to be a family car, that will last me many years to come, but still fun to drive! I don't plan on doing much, if any modding to the vehicle.

I've been lurking here and on NASIOC for a while, trying to soak up everything I can about WRX's and Foresters.

I searched, but wasn't able to find the information I'm looking for on the 06 WRXs and 06 Foresters.

I'm not 100% crazy about how either of them look, but I'm a FUNCTION over FORM kinda guy... so as long as they're fun to drive, and practical, then I'm a happy camper.

Right now, I drive a 99 Honda Prelude, which is a FUN to drive car! It has been an excellent car. My only gripes with it are FWD, and it's simply NOT practical.

I'm mainly interested in what you guys think about the rear-seat room of each and cargo capacity of each.

Is the handling THAT much better on a WRX wagon? On a scale of 1-10 how "fun to drive" would you rate the Wagon, and the Forester? (both in manual trannys)

From pictures, it appears that the rear-wheel wells of the Forester take up an inordinate amount of room when the rear-seats are folded down... but in the WRX wagon, the rear-wheel wells seem to be out of the way.