Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Forester X 2.5 AT Auto
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Because of the jobs I've had, I've driven a company-owned truck home for the last several years. However, due to a recent job change, I had to be buy a second vehicle, and ended up with my '06 Forester. Now, I get to do something I haven't been able to for a long while-perform incremental maintenance on a high-mileage vehicle and track how much mileage can be gained by each action. I've done this with F-150s, Chrysler minivans, and even a Javelin. I'm going to update this thread as I do each each thing and record the mileage increases. First, a little background about my automotive experience to maybe lend some explanation as to why I will be using certain products/taking certain steps:

-I was a salesman and tech adviser at Summit Racing Equipment for several years. This experience exposed me to many different products/brands/customer experiences. I got to find out what worked/didn't work, and which claims of certain product manufacturers seemed to pan out and which seemed to be bogus. So, I definitely have my favorite brands and products within a brand line, and have a good idea on what is a waste of money.

-Since 1986, I've owned and driven a more vehicles that I can remember, and have owned many beaters that I've had to keep going and wrench the last possible drop of mileage out of, so I've gotten pretty good at it.

About the car:

-2006 Forester, 2.5 N/A, A/T 144,400 ml. Very good condition. I can tell it was well taken care of, but have no maintenance records, except that the timing belt/water pump was replaced at 80,000 ml. Purchased at a reputable used car lot that had purchased from auction. Owner's manual packet shows it was originally purchase locally, and is remarkable rust free, despite being a Northern Ohio car from new.