Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
03 Forester X
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,

Im gearing up to do a timing belt replacement on my 2003 Forester 2.5L N/A with 94k. I've been reseaching the job quite a bit and I have the directions from the Endwrench website, along with a haynes manual.

I've done the timing belt on my old 92' 2.2L Subaru Legacy so I have some experience, but that was several years ago.

My plan is to replace these parts..

* Timing Belt
* Waterpump
* Tensioner
* Idler Pulleys (2 smooth & 1 cogged)

With all the head gasket failure discussion I am "considering" replacing the head gaskets as well while it is all apart, along I haven't notice any leaking or issues.

Any advice or recomendations are appreciated and I will document my replacement in this thread in the coming weeks. As always, Thanks for any advice!

Jason

·
Premium Member
2014 Impreza Ltd CVT
3,319 Posts
That's quite a bit MORE work. It's not like, while you are in there, lets replace the Head Gaskets.

I would plan on 6-8 hrs ( if this is your first time ) to replace the timing belt and associated parts you described. That's all I have done on many a Subaru I service and very few have had Head Gasket problems. We hear more about the failures than all those running without problems.

Ahhhh.... Fleetwood ..... been past there many times traveling from Allentown to Reading.

·
Registered
03 Forester X
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's quite a bit MORE work. It's not like, while you are in there, lets replace the Head Gaskets.

I would plan on 6-8 hrs ( if this is your first time ) to replace the timing belt and associated parts you described. That's all I have done on many a Subaru I service and very few have had Head Gasket problems. We hear more about the failures than all those running without problems.

Ahhhh.... Fleetwood ..... been past there many times traveling from Allentown to Reading.