Cobb AP v2 install, disconnect test mode connectors? - Subaru Forester Owners Forum
Subaru Forester Forum
ebay search
Subaru Forester Forum
Go Back   Subaru Forester Owners Forum > Technical Forums and Vehicle Assistance > Engine Management, Tuning and Datalogging
SubaruForester.org is the premier Subaru Forester Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2009, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 454
Location: CO
Car Year: 05
Car Model: Forester XT
Gallery: 0
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default Cobb AP v2 install, disconnect test mode connectors?

The accessPORT "getting started" manual doesn't mention it, but I assume that once you install the AP, and download a map, you need to disconnect the test mode connectors to drive your car?
(This is on a 05 XT MT)

Last edited by miko; 12-25-2009 at 12:54 PM. Reason: more info
miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2009, 05:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,094
Location: Abq, NM
Gallery: 0
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Default

Yes
__________________
'05 FXT - (Sold)
'12 F-150 FX4 Ecoboost
getsomz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,094
Location: Abq, NM
Gallery: 0
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Default

You also dont need to use the test connectors when changing real time maps
__________________
'05 FXT - (Sold)
'12 F-150 FX4 Ecoboost
getsomz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Forum Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 454
Location: CO
Car Year: 05
Car Model: Forester XT
Gallery: 0
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by getsomz28 View Post
You also dont need to use the test connectors when changing real time maps
I'm not up to speed on the different kind of maps, and switching them.
Does the AP actually upload several maps to the ECU, so that you can later switch between them? What's the max number of "real time" maps that you can have in the AP (and the ECU?)
miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Forum Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
stan_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8,139
Location: San Francisco, CA
Car Year: 1967
Car Model: VW Beetle
Transmission: 4MT
Gallery: 0
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Default

I don't have to connect/disconnect the test cable with v2 AP on my '07, but I'm not sure about the earlier cars, you may still have to. You only flash one map to the ECU, the other real-time ones you can switch to on the fly with the AP connected. Again, not sure if you can do that on an earlier car. With a real-time map, only certain parameters change until you turn the car off, the maps stays the same.

Stan
__________________
Shocks > struts.
stan_t is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Subaru Forester Owners Forum > Technical Forums and Vehicle Assistance > Engine Management, Tuning and Datalogging

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:43 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0