User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 04:07 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Car Year: 2004
Car Model: XS
Transmission: Automatic
Loud noise at 51MPH?

Hey guys, I have searched and can't find a thread that sounds exactly like my problem.I am new to Subaru in general so bear with me.I just bought a 2004 XS with 131K...has AT.When I am on the highway the car makes an extremely loud buzzing,scraping noise which starts at about 51 mph.The noise doesn't sound "rotational" in nature if that makes sense.It goes away at around 53.If you let off or press the gas pedal lightly it goes away instantly.Does not seem to do it when cruise in engaged. I put in the FWD fuse as a test and it makes no noise at all...car seems slightly quieter also.I am going to attempt to change the diff fluids today with Mobil1 synth. I have worked on my own stuff for years(BMW,Dodge,Ford SD,Harley)...I have never heard this kind of noise from a vehicle ever! What do you guys think?Drive shaft,rear diff,tranny or something totally off the wall?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 05:42 AM
Super Moderator

Car Year: 2008
Transmission: 4EAT
Might it be similar to this? Not mechanical but it fools many into thinking it is. Windscreen noise at speed or during strong crosswinds *the noise is heard at the end of the video. Just a shot.

2008 2.5XS 4EAT
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 07:09 AM
Forum Member

Car Year: 13
Car Model: Forester XT
Rear wheel bearing?

'05 XT 5 spd VF - SOLD
'13 XT Touring
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 07:18 AM
Forum Member

Car Model: FXT
Transmission: Auto(4eat?)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galager View Post
Rear wheel bearing?
Doubt it, because when mine went it only got louder as you increased speed. It would never just go away at x speed.
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-11-2012, 04:26 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Quote: