User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 04:47 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Car Year: 2004
Car Model: Forester
Transmission: 4EAT
Question Hard Shifting A/T

First, let me introduce myself. I'm a long time gear head who has had way too many cars in the past. I am a service tech by trade, although not on cars. I am about to purchace my first Subaru today. But, I had one concern. The tranny shifts VERY firmly as it's going up through the gears, and in all gears. But it only does it on upshifts. It feels like a tranny i built years ago for a rod that had a shift kit and a 1800 stall touque converter. The odd part is that it shifts smoother the harder I push it. The shifts are hardest under light acceleration. Have you guys ever heard of this? I have found no other threads on this so far. I would like to buy the car, because it is a very good deal, but if this a sign of a $2000 fix, I'll walk.

1999 forester a/t 147000 miles
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 04:58 AM
adc
Forum Member
Contributing Member

Car Year: 2008
Car Model: 2.5X
Without knowing the history..I'd walk. Model years before 2003 are guaranteed to need a Head gasket and also has the timing belt/water pump/and associated parts for this 105K mile required pm been done?

Be careful what you wish for.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 05:03 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

I'm honestly not worried about the head gaskets, as i will do that myself for what seems to be about $400 in parts. All fluids look good. Car has not been detailed, so I don't think they're hiding anything. Trans fluid is very clean with no bad odor. No bubbles or oil in overflow tank. I have read that these take a special trans fluid. Is that true on a model this old? Could they have put dex3 in?
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 06:12 AM
Forum Member

Car Year: 2008
Car Model: LL Bean (4EAT)
Quote: