Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

2013 AKA 2014 Forester AWD questions

('14-'18) 
15K views 24 replies 12 participants last post by  clarkjw 
#1 ·
Just ordered a 2.0i-S CVT from a dealer in Japan. I am an engineer but I still cannot understand half of what I read on the internet about the AWD design. The dealer speaks only Japanese. Can anyone reply to the following:

1) Does this model have front, center, and rear differentials, each with equal torque to both output shafts?
2) Does the center differential have a computer-controlled multi-plate clutch (MPT) between the front and rear output shafts?
3) Is the MPT clutch controlled progressively (not just binary engaged/disengaged)?
4) Regarding X-mode - if both left-hand side wheels are on ice (zero traction) and both right-hand side wheels are on dry pavement, will there be any torque to the right-hand side wheels?

Thanks

#2 ·
Hope you don't mind, I've tweaked your thread title to attract those that have deciphered the tech stuff on the forthcoming Forester.

The model years can be confusing with many markets defining the model years (MY) differently. Your MY13 is North America's MY14.

I'm sure we'll get a response soon.

Welcome and Cheers
Doug

#3 ·
You do have a front, center and rear differential, all of which are open differentials (well, the center is technically a MPT, discussed later). The actual torque split is unknown, but it is most likely the same as other Subaru's with the CVT transmission- 60% front, 40% rear (60/40). Putting it in Manual mode (or low for those who do not have paddle shifters) locks the AWD system at 50/50 split for power.

Torque side to side is equal however unless slip is detected.