User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
New User

Car Year: 05
Car Model: LL Bean Edition
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Rough ride

Hi. I have an 05 LL Bean edition I was hoping to get some advice on. For about a year now the ride has been really rough on roads even though it still seems to do pretty well off road. I'm feeling every little bump and crevice in the road and I'm sick of it. I've taken her on lot's of washboard gravel roads over the last couple of years, so I'm sure that's to blame. Anyways, I'm looking for advice and info on what needs to be replaced, and recommendations on what brands to use. Do I need to replace the entire shock, and if so should I go with the OEM or is there an aftermarket that would hold up a bit better to my off-road shenanigans? Any advice would be appreciated, but please keep in mind that I'm not a super mechanic, so please dumb down the info to layman level. Thanks.

PS. My Forester has bout 95000 miles, and I'm pretty sure the shocks are original.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 10:33 AM
Forum Member

Location: THe unmentionable part of a female whale,California
Car Year: 2017
Car Model: FOrester 2.5i
Transmission: cvt
Also look at your swaybar bushings and end links( assuming you have them)...

'17 Forester2.5i, CVT...>4500 miles
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 10:40 AM
スーパー モデレーター

Car Year: 2007
Car Model: Forester Sports XT
Transmission: 4EAT
Feedback Score: 41 reviews
I see this is your first forum post, so welcome to the forum from Oregon!

Let's start with the easy stuff. Are your tires in good shape.. don't need to be replaced & what tire pressure are you running?

Bobby...

['07 FSXT MODding Journal] ['03 X MODding Journal]

'07 FSXT - COBB Surgeline dyno stock Protune - Stage 1+
'03 X +AVO turbo kit = XT (son's)
'95 Neon Sport

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 01:17 PM
Forum Member