Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

head gaskets. what to do

1K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  sequoia 
#1 ·
I've just returned from the mechanic when I went to go get my coolant flushed. He says that if I'm trying to prevent my head gaskets from leaking that I'm too late. Now there is not any discoloration in the coolant itself. The bottom of the car has oil all over it. Where can I look. I don't really know what the head gaskets look like? Also how long can I go with just a leak? It has 75k

#2 ·
I am no expert here and I admit it, but I also have a 2003 Forester X, and I got it two weeks ago. Before I got it, it too, had the head gasket fail and it has already been replaced. This happened at about the 75,000 mile range, so I would plan on getting this fixed asap if possible. Either through the mechanic or yourself is your so inclined. I hope this helps.

#3 ·
To answer your question, you can go as long as you want with a leaking HG. It won't suddenly explode and leave you stranded, if that's what you're asking. You could keep going.
Now, what should you do, is up to you. HG leaks can be from the coolant into the cylinder, from the oil into the cylinder, the coolant to the outside of the engine block, the oil to the outside, oil into the coolant, or any combination of the above. Compressed gasses in the cylinder can escape into the engine block or bubble through the coolant. This in turn, can foul the cat converter and emissions sensors, make a mess everywhere you park, taint the oil and cause various mayhem in the engine block, or any combination of the above. Loss of too much coolant or oil can lead to overheating or seizing, which can cause a catastrophic fail on the road. Or, it could just be an annoying leak for a year or so.