('09-'13) Clutch problems in my new Forester! - Subaru Forester Owners Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Car Year: 2010
Car Model: Forrester diesel
Unhappy Clutch problems in my new Forester!

I bought a new Forester Diesel Turbo in August last year. (2010) I have raved and raved about how fantastic it is to so many people and now i find that after 35000 kms it needs a new clutch. I do not tow, I do not ride the clutch .......... I am bewildered! It has a 6-speed manual gear box and of course you use the clutch when changing gear but never have I had to replace a clutch in any car that I have owned. I have been driving for over 30 years - all sorts of cars. I also own a landcruiser that is used to tow a horse float and have never had clutch problems! Has anyone else had any issues?? Maybe my car is a lemon ..... sob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011, 07:04 PM
Novice Tuner
Contributing Member

Car Year: 2001
Car Model: Forester STi
Transmission: 6spd with MapDCCD
Interesting... Perhaps its a bad part? That seems a little early for a clutch to need replacing, in fact i know people who get around that mileage on just tires alone.

Perhaps contact subaru and appeal to them and ask if this is normal? Maybe they will warrenty it.

2001FSTi: 370hp/trq.... Heartbreaker mustang dyno #'s
Dom 1.5XTR, Mikey Tuned!........
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011, 11:12 PM
dpm
Forum Member

Car Year: 2009
Car Model: XC diesel
Transmission: 6mt
*how* is the clutch faulty- slipping, dragging, or judder? There's been the odd faulty Dual-Mass Flywheel (DMF), but I don't think I've heard of any *worn* clutches in Boxer Diesel.

2009 SH XCdiesel 6MT
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-13-2011, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeDrives1 View Post