User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
New User

Car Year: 2004
Car Model: Forester
Transmission: Auto
Accessories Belt

So my car ('04 Forester X) is doing some squealing on start up, and from what I can tell (also does it when the AC turns on, and when I make a hard turn right after starting the car which means power steering to me) its the accessory belt. I'm looking at replacing it, and I have a few questions:

1. Does my diagnosis sound right?

2. Is the replacement difficult(I'm relativley mechanically inclined, but I'm no mechanic, and I only have pretty basic tools), or is it worth it for me to send it in somewhere.

3. About how much would a new belt run me, and where is a good place online to find parts?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 01:03 PM
has awakened!

Car Year: 2007
Car Model: Forester Sports XT
Transmission: 4EAT
I see this is your first forum post, so welcome to the forum from Oregon!

If the belt is squealing when you turn & when you switch on the AC, I'm going to guess you might have 2 belts issues, but I'd suggest stating with the power steering/alternator belt first. The AC compressor has its own belt.

It's possible that the belt just needs to be tightened, but if it's been allowed to slip too long, it may be glazed & need to be replaced.

This DIY thread should get you started. DIY Accessory Belt Adjustment

Bobby...

['07 FSXT MODding Journal] ['03 X MODding Journal]

'07 FSXT - COBB Surgeline dyno Protune - Stage 1+
'03 X +AVO turbo kit = XT (son's)
'95 Neon Sport
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 02:27 PM
Forum Member

Car Year: 03X
Transmission: MT
I'd replace the belts on an 04 unless you know they had previously benn changed. Pretty easy job.
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 04:26 PM
Forum Member

Car Year: 03X
Transmission: MT