('09-'13) Happy with stock turbo? - Subaru Forester Owners Forum
Subaru Forester Forum
ebay search
Subaru Forester Forum
Go Back   Subaru Forester Owners Forum > Technical Forums and Vehicle Assistance > Engine and Exhaust > EJ25 - 2.5L Turbocharged (2004-2013)
SubaruForester.org is the premier Subaru Forester Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member

Car Year: 2013
Car Model: Ford Fusion SE
Transmission: 6AT SportShift
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Happy with stock turbo?

Hello all! I've been researching mods for the 2011 FXT, and have gotten a lot of good feedback from Nate and Superacerc here.

However, I think I may have lost sight of my initial goals, and want to re-focus a little.

Our "fun" car is a 2005 350Z automatic convertible. Literally, it's the *slowest* 350Z combination made. My goal is for our new DD (the FXT) to accelerate as well as, or better than, the Z.

I initially figured a catted DP, & AP w/ OTS map would be good to go. Then I read of wastegate flutter with the TD04 @ "stage 2". That's when I started looking into turbo swaps, and may have lost my focus.

I live in El Paso, TX; heat's an issue down here. Whatever else I do, I'll install a PTP (?) lava turbo blanket, and some heat-reflective tape (need to research this more) on the TMIC, and OE heatshield. I plan to do the "bulletproof" TMIC mod, just for peace of mind.

I also plan to have the car e-tuned, to get more out of it than the OTS maps will give. Ray @ turbotektuning comes highly recommmended, but I haven't looked too deeply into this yet, either.

SO...

Those that have (or have had) "stage 2" mods: Can I get where I wanna be with the little TD04?

Thoughts on the mods I have in mind?
dwmilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement