New User

Car Year: 2004
Car Model: Forester XT MT
Transmission: Manual
Gallery: 0
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Blown Turbo 2004 XT Options

Well dang,

My 2004 xt (mt) has been blowing white smoke for the last couple of days, so a buddy and I checked the intercooler and found oil everywhere. We suspected a blown turbo, so brought into an independent Subie shop. They confirmed that the turbo is failing, causing a "horrible" loss of oil (it burned through 3 quarts in a couple days!). The Subie shop wants $2000 to replace the turbo with a rebuilt turbo, but it will take the, 1-2 weeks to get the parts! Can't drive it till the turbo is replaced.M Subie shop didn't think there was any additional engine damage.

After reading the great advice here, I am very tempted to perform the turbo swap myself with a more knowledgeable friend. Probably go for a vf39, sti intercooler, cat less up pipe, Cobb ap or 2004 sti ecu, etc... If I go this route. I have limited mechanical knowledge, although my buddy rebuilds Volvo engines. Am I getting in over my head on this?

Another option I am considering is, sniff sniff, trying to sell the car WITH the blown turbo. I would hope to get $4k or something, selling to someone with plans to upgrade immediately. It would be hard to pay the Subie repair costs, and it seems I keep up pumping money into the car (new swift suspension, ac unit, tvg sensor, etc...). Would it even be sellable with a blown turbo?

Thanks all,

Christian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 03:08 PM
The Seventh Sister
Administrator

Car Model: Forester XT Premium
Transmission: 4EAT
Gallery: 70
Garage
Feedback Score: 50 reviews
Go for the STi upgrade... you won't regret it!

-Silke
04 FXT PP PSM ~ "Subed"
98 Forester S ~ "Slynki"
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 03:26 PM
Forum Member

Car Model: Forester XT
Transmission: Manual 5sp.
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
$2,000 is a lot to play with.

To put it into perspective: