Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

Anyone here in Japan?

24K views 58 replies 27 participants last post by  broadbean 
#1 ·
Just curious if any of our members are in Japan? I'm in the middle of nowhere with my SG5 Foz and pretty much rely on strictly the internet and my own intuition. Would be nice to learn of some friendlies who have more experience than I do.
:bananapartyhat:

#36 ·
Mt. Fuji was a blast! It sucks going down because you're walking down at a backwards angle with so much pressure on your knees. I felt like a 90yr old man with bad knees for a week!
Used to be stationed at Yokota AB and it was the best two years of my life! Never going back to Kadena (baby jesus willing) though. Not a fan of all the blanket punishments.

#40 ·
Hi guys! I’m a newbie on this forum but not to Japan, having been here for over 8 years now. I’m in Kanagawa, just south of Tokyo, though can’t help on the car-front as I’m currently car-less. However, I’m hoping to rectify that with a Forester purchase later this year!

#42 · (Edited by Moderator)
Thanks for the welcome! I'm fairly flexible as to model, though from a financial point of view I'm probably looking at second generation, early to mid-2000s. For me, Subaru = 4WD turbo, so a turbocharger would be nice, despite the hike in fuel, insurance and tax costs. Ideally, I'd also prefer a manual over an automatic though from what I've seen over here to date, there are far more of the latter, so I may have to give up on that. Dare I say it, I'm also thinking about a Legacy Touring Wagon. Anyway, first thing's first, I need to get behind the wheel of a few, as my only Subaru driving experience was about 18 years ago when I nearly bought an Impreza turbo!

#46 ·
Hey guys!

I'll be in country beginning of May. @Mikku, I'll be in your prefecture so we'll have to get together sometime. I picked up a 97 Vivio RXR, pretty excited to get into country and pick it up.