(All Years) Wiring the Pioneer head unit- Handbrake bypass - Subaru Forester Owners Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-26-2013, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wiring the Pioneer head unit- Handbrake bypass

Does anyone have any instructions on how to wire the hand brake bypass on our cars?
I know it needs a relay but what relay and what wire to i use on the hand brake?
Is there maybe a write up or pictures?

Magnus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-26-2013, 10:04 PM
Smooshed FOTY 2011
 
Blue Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 5,801
Car Year: 2005
Car Model: Lifted 2.5 XT
Transmission: 5-Speed MT
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You can use a relay, or connect it to a simple switch that is connected to a ground. You flip the switch on, then back off, and it's good to go. I hid a little switch in the glovebox for this.


2004 XT - RIP
2005 XT - 5MT - 2" LIFT
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blue Fox is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-26-2013, 11:38 PM
Forum Member
 
Joe333x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 176
Car Year: 2014
Car Model: 2.5i Premium
Transmission: 6 Speed Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just search ebay for pioneer bypass. I ordered one from there when I had my pioneer, you can make one but for the price you can pick one up on ebay already made I just bought one.
Joe333x is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 04:37 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys.
I know about the by pass.
Just wanted to know how to wire it and to what wires on the handbrake!

Has anyone got a write up or pics maybe?

Also what type of relay or switch do i need?
Magnus is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 05:50 AM
Forum Member
 
nepbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,658
Car Year: 2008
Car Model: Forester XT Sport
Transmission: 4EAT
Garage
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Is this the Pioneer Avic-X9310 model?

If so, I know what to do as I did it on my X930 and it's identical.
-Ground the pin just above (or below depending on which way you are holding the harness) the mute wire. You'll need to add a wire, some people move the mute wire up and use that, I just added a new wire and grounded that.
-Ground the parking brake lead instead of attaching it to the vehicle's parking brake wire.
-Done

That's it, no relay and no switch needed, I'm always bypassed. I used the ground that was already in the harness but some people use a screw nearby, just make sure it is a good ground.

Check out YouTube and avic411.com for more info.

Of course if you have another head unit things might be different.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

E .· ` ' / ·. F
nepbug is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 06:08 AM
Forum Member
 
DubbleThePleasure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 413
Car Year: 2014
Car Model: Forester XT
Transmission: CVT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any easy bypass tricks for the pioneer avh-4500? The bypass relay on ebay is $20, but I understand many head units can be bypassed for free using methods you just described.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DubbleThePleasure is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 10:16 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by nepbug View Post
Is this the Pioneer Avic-X9310 model?

If so, I know what to do as I did it on my X930 and it's identical.
-Ground the pin just above (or below depending on which way you are holding the harness) the mute wire. You'll need to add a wire, some people move the mute wire up and use that, I just added a new wire and grounded that.
-Ground the parking brake lead instead of attaching it to the vehicle's parking brake wire.
-Done

That's it, no relay and no switch needed, I'm always bypassed. I used the ground that was already in the harness but some people use a screw nearby, just make sure it is a good ground.

Check out YouTube and avic411.com for more info.

Of course if you have another head unit things might be different.


No i got Pioneer AVH-X2500BT.
so not sure if that works.

In any case as electronics is not my strongest ability i would like as detailed description as possible .

ALso does anyone know if i simply dont connect the cable to the handbrake....will it just affect the DVD function?
Or more?
Magnus is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 10:55 AM
Forum Member
 
nepbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,658
Car Year: 2008
Car Model: Forester XT Sport
Transmission: 4EAT
Garage
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus View Post
No i got Pioneer AVH-X2500BT.
so not sure if that works.

In any case as electronics is not my strongest ability i would like as detailed description as possible .

ALso does anyone know if i simply dont connect the cable to the handbrake....will it just affect the DVD function?
Or more?
If you don't connect the radio's handbrake wire to anything, the head unit will always think that the handbrake is down (disengaged).

It will affect DVD function, I believe that without the HU's parking brake wire attached to anything you will not be able to watch any DVDs at all. If you attach it to the parking brake you can watch it with the parking brake up (engaged). If you bypass it you can watch it at all times.

In addition to the DVD playback I think the only other function that would be affected is if you put in the optional navigation module. With no hookup you won't be able to enter a destination address, with a parking brake attached you need to engage the brake to enter an address and with the bypass you can enter the address at any time.

Looks like this video gives you some info, look through the video comments as well:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sCCdsIUjbRA

It also looks like there are several people out there that sell the bypass, you might want to look into one of those for $20.

It also seems as though if it is a 2013 unit it requires a little different bypass than previous years.

Oh yeah, and here's a link to the AVIC411.com forum for the AVH series, probably some good info in there.
http://avic411.com/index.php?/forum/...er-avh-series/


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

E .· ` ' / ·. F

Last edited by nepbug; 06-27-2013 at 11:08 AM.
nepbug is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 11:47 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks.
the bypass cost is no issue except that it will take a week plus to get to Iceland and i have to double the cost at least on import taxes. I think i will try my luck with a relay!!!!
Magnus is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-27-2013, 04:15 PM
Forum Member
 
nepbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,658
Car Year: 2008
Car Model: Forester XT Sport
Transmission: 4EAT
Garage
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus View Post
Thanks.
the bypass cost is no issue except that it will take a week plus to get to Iceland and i have to double the cost at least on import taxes. I think i will try my luck with a relay!!!!
Yeah it looks like pre-2013 you can do the relay, 2013 you have to use a normally-closed momentary switch.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

E .· ` ' / ·. F
nepbug is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-28-2013, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tried the relay tonight and seems to work.....
Just need to get an antenna insert tomorrow and should have all finalized tomorrow!
Magnus is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-29-2013, 12:05 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Seems like i was wrong. The DVD stopped working again.
Seems like 2013 Pioneers need more than just a relay.
From a litle search i did i need to add a toggle switch.
But does someone know what cable to wire it on?
Magnus is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-29-2013, 04:09 AM
Forum Member
 
nepbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,658
Car Year: 2008
Car Model: Forester XT Sport
Transmission: 4EAT
Garage
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
The problem seems to be that the 2013 units don't have that delay that allowed the relay to work as a bypass.

You should just have to wire a normally closed momentary switch to the parking brake wire instead of the relay (the switch will be placed between the parking brake wire on the head unit and a ground). Every time you start the car you are going to have to blip that switch to get your bypass working.

Personally, I would just buy the microbypass, or whatever it is called. It's a one time install and forget about it after that.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

E .· ` ' / ·. F

Last edited by nepbug; 06-29-2013 at 05:31 AM.
nepbug is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-29-2013, 03:01 PM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well....it worked all day today. So if it is ok i will leave it. Otherwise i ll get the microbypass.
Magnus is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2013, 03:05 PM Thread Starter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Iceland
Posts: 137
Car Year: 2003
Car Model: Forester Turbo
Transmission: Manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got it all working and added some Alpine components! Sound stage is finally at a reasonable level!!!!!
Magnus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Subaru Forester Owners Forum > Technical Forums and Vehicle Assistance > Interior and Electronics

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 

Title goes here

close
video goes here
description goes here. Read Full Story
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1