('09-'13) New Stereo Setup - Subaru Forester Owners Forum
Subaru Forester Forum
ebay search
Subaru Forester Forum
Go Back   Subaru Forester Owners Forum > Technical Forums and Vehicle Assistance > Interior and Electronics
SubaruForester.org is the premier Subaru Forester Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
New User

Car Year: 2011
Car Model: Forester
Transmission: Automatic
Gallery: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default New Stereo Setup

I'm upgrading my sounds system in my 2011 Forester. I plan on getting 4 Polk Audio db651, 2 10" Kicker Comps (all speakers and subs are 4 ohms), with a Planet Audio AC1800.5 (5 channel amp), and a Pioneer AVH-P3400BH head unit. It's my first time getting a newer sound system and was wondering if this is a good setup and what all wires would I need? (Like 4 gauge, 8 gauge, brand, & ect.). Needing help with this and all help is much appreciated.
2011 Forester is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-24-2012, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Forum Member

Car Year: 2002
Car Model: WRX
Transmission: 5 Speed
Gallery: 3
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

It would probably be easiest to buy an amp install kit from Monster or someone else. It will most likely include a lot of what you need (power wire - 4 gauge should be good, ground wire, fuse block and fuse). Some come with the RCA cables that you will need if using the pre-outs on the head unit. Pick up some speaker wire as you will probably need it depending where you install the amp. I'd also get the adapter that allows you to plug into the factory harness instead of cutting and a dash kit if needed to get the head unit to fit in the dash properly.