LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 245 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 06:07 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Car Year: 2016
Car Model: XT Touring
Transmission: CVT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A newbie's journey

So, I bought my 2016 Forester XT Touring the first week of January. I had decided that I was going to customize this car but I am completely and totally ignorant of what to do.

I think, at times, maybe other people come to these forums who are new like me and have no real firm vision of what to do to make the car 'mine'.

So this thread will be me just logging and documenting...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 245 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 06:19 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member

First things first, I am NOT technically savvy nor am I going to tinker with my car myself (mechanically, plugging in an OBD II is not tinkering IMO). Secondly, I have no clue whom in my area works on these cars and would be able to tune it or provide recommendations or much of anything. I posted on the Chicago thread in the Midwest forum but that was never responded to... I tracked down Cobb Tuning and so far 2 locals responded. 1 said "buy an AccessPort" that they'd install for a fee..(ugh)... the other responded with, "we don't tune but we'll install your parts"...the rest ignored me (somewhere Alec Baldwin is giving his Glenngarry Glen Ross speech)...

So, I bought the Accessport from Cobb and installed it (literally plug in the device, and follow the instructions). It works as described... I've attempted to run the cable as best as I can. With the new leg air bag, I am already nervous that my cord is getting in the way. I followed how @HotShot308 described, so I think I am ok... I have a 93 octane BP right by my house, so I mapped to the 93 Stage 1... the problem is, Cobb doesn't support anything else because in their testing they hit a wall with the CVT... meaning, either I go the protune route or I'm done spending one more penny on this car...