Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

Forester XT Subwoofer possibility...

('06-'08) 
25K views 40 replies 11 participants last post by  x05 
#1 ·
I think I saw that the stock sub in the XT's is a 6x9"??? Please correct me if I'm wrong.. I saw this and wanted to share.. A good potential upgrade if you wanted to stick with the 6x9 size... I'm also no expert on reading subwoofer specs, but it looks like it might be a decent upgrade from stock with a smaller single channel amp maybe. Possibly a good mid-bass to fit that slot, combined with a 10 or 12" in a sealed box for a full-blown system.

Specifications: Power Handling: 90 watts RMS/170 watts max *VCdia: 1-1/2" *Impedance: 8 ohms *Re: 6.5 ohms *Frequency range: 35-350 Hz *Fs: 35 Hz *SPL: 87 dB 2.83V/1m *Vas: 1.34 cu.ft. *Qms: 6.05 *Qes: .37 *Qts: .35 *Xmax 7mm *Dimensions: A: 6-1/2" x 9-1/4", C: 4-3/16"

Anyway, just wanted to share...

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=264-837

See less See more
#3 ·
Ah yes.. That's where I saw the modded coax speaker.

So the only thing about the above tang band woofer is the impedence.. would have to throw an amp at it that can perform well at that higher impedence level... I did also see this one that specs out at 4ohms that might be a better option:

Specifications: Power Handling: 80 watts RMS/160 watts max *VCdia: 3" *Impedance: 4 ohms *Re: 3.2 ohms *Frequency range: 40-350 Hz *Fs: 40 Hz *SPL: 88 dB 2.83V/1m *Vas: 1.65 cu. ft. *Qms: 2.29 *Qes: .28 *Qts: .25 *Xmax 5.5 mm *Dimensions: A: 6-1/2" x 9-1/4", C: 2-3/16".

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=264-864

#10 ·
Ah yes.. That's where I saw the modded coax speaker.

So the only thing about the above tang band woofer is the impedence.. would have to throw an amp at it that can perform well at that higher impedence level... I did also see this one that specs out at 4ohms that might be a better option: